Caramel Apple Crisp

So a few weeks ago I signed up for another swap on a friend’s blog.

Her blog can be found here: http://www.chevronstitches.blogspot.com/

This time it was a recipe swap. Basically we took a questionnaire, got matched up, and received our recipe in the great American snail mail. So, I got this awesome recipe for Caramel Apple Crisp.

3 cups old-fashioned oats

2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 cups brown sugar packed

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 cup cold butter

8 cups thinly sliced apples

1 package 14 oz caramels

1 cup apple cider, divided

In a large bowl, combine the oats, flour, brown sugar and cinnamon; cut in butter until crumbly. Press half of the mixture into a greased 13×9 baking dish. Layer with half of the apples and caramels and 1 cup oat mixture;repeat layers. Pour 1/2 cup cider over top. Bake, uncovered, at 350′ for 30 minutes. Drizzle with remaining cider; bake 15-20 minutes longer or until apples are tender. Yields 12-14 servings.

So I gathered the supplies:

Image

Then I peeled some apples…(I admit, this is NOT my strongest kitchen skill!)Image

I put the oats, flour, packed brown sugar, and cinnamon into a large bowl:

Image

I stirred that all together with my hands, and then threw in the 1 cup cold butter chopped into pieces. Wow, that sure is a LOT of butter, Yum!!

Image

Smashed half of that mixture into my 13×9 pan…

Image

In the mean time had to un-wrap a zillion little caramels (NOT my favorite part, I felt like I worked in a factory)…Image

Then I had to chop the tiny caramels in 1/2 which was a sticky adventure at best…

Image

Here’s my sliced apples by the way, notice how they aren’t all the SAME size, and just a modge podge of thickness!!

Image

Then you layer in the apples on top of the pressed oat mixture…Here’s mine:

Image

Don’t forget to toss in the little chopped up painfully unwrapped caramels:

Image

Then toss on another cup of the high buttery oat mixture:

Image

Oh and you’re suppose to pour on some apple cider too before you bake it, but I mis-read that and thought it said apple cider-vinegar (oopsie, have no fears, I caught myself before I poured it in!) So having no apple cider on hand, I just squirted in one of my son’s apple juice boxes (close enough I guess?) LOL, Bake and enjoy!! Here’s my gorgeous Caramel Apple Crisp that we’ll be enjoying with tonight’s dinner…

Image

One response to “Caramel Apple Crisp”

  1. featheredneststudio says :

    This looks yummy! Nice job.

Leave a Reply

